The Lunge and Grab

27 Jul

Someone came up to me at the gym the other day and said, “I always see you doing the craziest exercises. Where do you get them?”

Over the years, I’ve amassed some unique exercises. I’ve taken them from books, like Making The Cut by Jillian Michaels and The 4-Hour Body by Tim Ferriss, and from countless classes, boot camps and personal training sessions.

The move that prompted the question at the gym was something I call “the lunge and grab.” I’m sure there’s an official name for it, but my trainer didn’t fill me in — he just gave me the rundown on how to do it and off I went. I’ve been incorporating it into my own workouts ever since, because it works a whole bunch of muscles at the same time.

Here’s how you do it: Place a weight on the ground in front of you, slightly to the right of where your right foot would land if you lunged forward.

Now, let’s all pretend that my can of black beans is a 15-pound weight, which is what I typically use at the gym. Cool? Cool.

(And I’m smiling not just because of the beans, but because my fabulous friend Jen was taking the pictures and making me laugh. Now, on to the exercise.)

Stand with your feet shoulder-width apart and lunge forward with your right foot.

Lean down and grab the weight with your left hand.

While you’re holding the lunge, lift the weight up and across your body. At the top, your arm should be straight and your eyes should be on the beans, er, weight.

Lower the weight and place in the same spot on the ground.

Push yourself back and up out of the lunge. Perform 10 to 15 repetitions on the same side and then switch.

You’ll know it works because, for a couple of days afterwards, your legs and core will have that great post-workout burn goin’ on.

And if someone stops you to ask where you got the crazy exercise, feel free to tell them all about the Toque Girls blog.

~Michelle

Leave a Reply

