A Quinoa Feast: Part 2

21 Jul

On Tuesday, we discussed the healthy quinoa dishes that were devoured at Chris and Martin’s place last Sunday, like salad and casserole. Enough healthy talk. Let’s get to dessert!

Martin made three amazing treats: caramel and pecan pie, pumpkin ice cream and the quinoa chocolate cake. Here he is with all three:

Martin uses a KitchenAid to churn out his own ice cream concoctions:

After tasting the delicious pumpkin creation, I can see why the guys never venture past their own kitchen to get their ice cream fix. The pie also looked fantastic, but I passed because of my allergy to pecans. That was A-OK with me, because it meant  more room for the quinoa chocolate cake.

Let’s have a closer look at this masterpiece of a cake:

People, this cake is unbelievable. It’s chewy, moist, chocolatey and tastes amazing with Martha Stewart’s dark chocolate frosting, which is what Martin used.

Let’s have an even closer look at the deliciousness:

Here’s how you’re going to make the cake. Because there’s no question — you must make it.

Like Tuesday’s recipes, this one comes from the Quinoa 365 cookbook. (I’ll be adding the book to my next Amazon order.)

Moist Chocolate Cake

  • 2/3 cup white or golden quinoa
  • 1 1/3 cups water
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 1/2 cups white or cane sugar
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Bring the quinoa and water to a boil in a medium saucepan. Cover, reduce to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes. Turn off the heat and leave the covered saucepan on the burner for another 10 minutes. Fluff with a fork and allow the quinoa to cool.

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Lightly grease two 8-inch (20 cm) round or square cake pans. Line the bottoms of the pans with parchment paper.

Combine the milk, eggs and vanilla in a blender or food processor. Add 2 cups of cooked quinoa and the butter and continue to blend until smooth.

Whisk together the sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. Add the contents of the blender and mix well. Divide the batter evenly between the 2 pans and bake on the centre oven rack for 40 to 45 minutes or unil a knife inserted in the centre comes out clean. Remove the cake from the oven and cool completely in the pan before serving. Frost if desired.

Store in a sealed container in the refrigerator for up to 1 week or freeze for up to 1 month. (**Or, take Michelle’s suggestion: invite Michelle over, who will ensure you have no leftovers.)

***

To repay Chris and Martin’s kindness — and to try out some new recipes — I’ve offered to make a  lunch for them in the near future. But how I will ever live up to last Sunday’s culinary prowess, I do not know.

~Michelle

5 Responses to “A Quinoa Feast: Part 2”

  1. patentandthepantry July 21, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Everytime I see this cake I think, damn, I really need to make it. I guess I should move that up my to-do list and invite you over, Michelle?

  2. ValB. July 21, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    I have a copy of that cookbook and I’ve made that quinoa choco cake several times. It’s
    amazingly good!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Toffee Almond Squares « The Toque Girls - August 10, 2011

    […] when I said I would have Martin and Chris over for brunch? I hosted them on Sunday, along with my friend, […]

Leave a Reply

