Cherry Vanilla Smoothie

12 Jul

Do you get hooked on breakfasts? It happens to me all the time. I’ll go months only eating one thing for breakfast, then — switcheroo — one day, I’m onto a hot and heavy affair with something else. I’m fickle like that.

Let me introduce my new breakfast fling, cherry vanilla smoothie.

I woke up this morning at 6 a.m., hours earlier than needed. I groaned and rolled over to go back to sleep. And then, I remembered my new breakfast paramour. I jumped out of bed and was at the blender before both eyes were open.

To feed my addiction, I’ve been buying fresh cherries whenever I find a sale. I’ll pit dozens at a time and toss them in the freezer. I’m hoping to stockpile enough to last me through October. I figure the mornings will be cold by then and I’ll launch into a dalliance with something warmer like oatmeal.

Until then, this is the reason I get out of bed in the morning.

Ingredients

1 cup vanilla almond milk

1 cup frozen cherries

1 handful spinach (I often freeze spinach for smoothies but fresh or frozen works well in smoothies)

1/2 scoop of a vanilla-flavoured whey protein fortified powder

1/2 scoop of ProGreens powder

Directions

Throw everything in blender. Blend away.

~Chris

6 Responses to “Cherry Vanilla Smoothie”

  1. Sarah Frangou July 12, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    can you taste the spinach?

  2. Sarah July 12, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    That sounds amazing, Chris! What do you use to pit the cherries (I’ve been trying to figure out how to do that in some less difficult manner)?

    • The Toque Girls July 12, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      I actually have a cherry/olive pitter from Crate & Barrel. Check it out here. I highly recommend it! I think I’d have carpal tunnel syndrome otherwise from all the cherry and olive pitting.

  3. Meghan July 13, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Sounds yummy! Where do you get ProGreens powder?

    • The Toque Girls July 14, 2011 at 6:20 am #

      I get it at Nutritional House or Community Natural Foods.

Leave a Reply

