Happy Canada Day

30 Jun

Hooray! The long weekend is (almost) here.

To me, Canada Day long weekends are all about spending time at our family’s cabin.

Growing up, we spent most of our summers at Clear Lake, which is about 4 ½ hours away from Calgary and just outside of Wainwright. It’s a beautiful spot:

I can’t wait to get out there tomorrow to meet up with family and friends, to read some books (I’m finally going to start The Hunger Games) and to spend some time in the sun.

This weekend will be the kickoff to many weekends at the lake, which will be sure to involve:

  • Waterskiing. My brother and all our friends out there are fantastic wakeboarders, but I’m still into slalom skiing. Call me old fashioned.
  • Naps on the pier.
  • Running around the lake in the morning. It only takes about 35 or 40 minutes, but it has lots of hills to keep things interesting. If I’m feeling extra ambitious, I’ll tackle some pushups, lunges and squats. And then I’ll jump in the lake.
  • Floating in the bay, a calm spot where the boats congregate on a hot day. We dive, we float, we swim. It’s heaven.
  • Nighttime cruises on Troy’s boat. (He of the Macho Nacho fame.)
  • Ice cream sandwiches.

Just writing that list makes me excited for summer. I’m so happy Canada Day is here!

Hope you all have a fantastic weekend. We’ll see you Monday.

~Michelle

Leave a Reply

