5 Questions with Rachel Mielke of Hillberg & Berk

28 Jun

Rachel Mielke is a cool chick.

Celebs like Carrie Underwood and Sarah McLachlan wear her Hillberg & Berk jewelry. She’s been featured on CBC’s Dragons’ Den, convinced Calgary businessman and then-dragon, Brett Wilson, to become her business partner and has even won awards for being an outstanding entrepreneur. She’s also a fantastic contributor to a cause I’m passionate about — the Wings of Hope Breast Cancer Foundation.

As someone who loves jewelry, I can say that her jewelry is gorgeous. And as someone who volunteers on the Wings of Hope board, I can say that we really, really love having her involved in our annual fundraiser, which will be held this year on October 19 at the Hyatt. With Rachel’s jewelry raising funds for the cause — she’s making a unique necklace and bracelet just for the Wings of Hope lunch — and singer/breast cancer survivor Bif Naked as our guest speaker, the event will be fantastic. (If you’re interested in tickets, act fast! We’re almost sold out.)

Here are just a few of her designs:

Now, let’s get to the five questions!

What was the inspiration behind your summer collection?

I pulled inspiration from the French Riviera for this collection as it is a little softer, ocean-y and very luxurious!

How often do you come to Calgary and, when you’re here, what spots do you like to hit? 

I am in Calgary once every couple of months and my favourite spots to shop are Crabapple Clothing and Modern Country Interiors. My style is part luxury part country so I get my fix at they great stores.

What do you think of Coco Chanel’s rule that you should always take one piece of jewelry off before leaving the house?

Ha ha this is cute, one of my favourite quotes of hers is that “women should be two things: classy and fabulous.” Every woman’s definition of fabulous is different. I love to see how some women wear H&B jewellery with 6 pieces on at once and others choose that one piece they love and just wear it. We all have our own definition of fabulous and as long as that is how we feel when we get dressed, who’s to judge.

Fill in the blanks, please: My dream vacation would involve going to Bali, so I can surf and spa it up! And I would definitely pack my H&B jewels, Jessica Jensen purses and about 20 pairs of shoes!

Toques – love ‘em or hate ‘em? What about in summer?

Love toques! My grandma knits me custom ones with all kinds of beautiful yarn and I have started to decorate them with buttons and Swarovski crystal. I probably have 20 toques but I only wear them in fall and winter.

You can find Rachel’s designs in Calgary at Crabapple Clothing, Mariah’s Clothing, O’Connors and Modern Country Interiors.
~Michelle
One Response to “5 Questions with Rachel Mielke of Hillberg & Berk”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 Questions for Bif Naked « The Toque Girls - July 11, 2011

    […] Cancer Foundation fundraiser on October 19 at the Hyatt, which I’ve written about before here, we met up at Hotel Arts for a […]

Leave a Reply

