Salt Water Hair Saver

23 Jun

Fact # 1: I love to swim in the sea. Give me a pair of goggles and some open salty sea water and I’m off, my inner geeky little Mermaid laughing all the way.

Fact #2: My hair stylist does not love my geeky little Mermaid side. My inner Ariel is a major threat to highlighted curly dry hair, which is exactly how said stylist and I, in secret, describe my hair. Publicly, the correct term is “bouncy sun-kissed curls.”

Fact #3: After a shameless number of beach vacations, I’ve found a tried-and-true hair protector from salt water, at a cost of about $6 or about the same price as one iced coffee on the beach, by the way, and available at cheap drug stores throughout Calgary.

Meet the long-time Frangou family fave, Coconut Hair Oil. Cue trumpets here, please.

Directions: Go to beach. Jump in water. Play mermaid. Return to towel. Take few globs* and comb through hair. Leave in until showering. Highlights saved. Curls dry into perfect beachy curls. Go home weeks later, highlights and hair strands intact.

Some caveats:

(*) People who do not have dry-ish or curly-ish hair will probably hate this product.

(*) I don’t know why this works so well. A hair stylist once told me that the oil probably gives the salt water something to gnaw on instead of my curls.

If you want to take me with you on your beach vacation, I’ll bring the coconut oil.

~Chris

*Some of you may question my use of “few globs.” Is it not equally descriptive to the “dime-sized” portion that most shampoo bottles suggest? My shampoo never comes out like a dime.

2 Responses to “Salt Water Hair Saver”

  1. Nicole Zacharias June 23, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    love the coconut oil!!! great article.

  2. Jen June 24, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    I’ve been using this stuff for years and love it! AMAZING for dry skin and as a lip gloss too (mixes well with a bit of MAC Pigment for a tinted color). And it makes my pup Finnegan’s coat oh so nice! I’m like MacGyver with this stuff, lol! 🙂

Leave a Reply

