Things We Like

3 Jun

While Chris is living it up in Cyprus, I’m slugging it out in Calgary. Good thing I have lots of things here to make me happy, including but not limited to:

  • This prediction. If I could high-five meteorologist Chris Scott, I would.
  • The news that Calgary has a new downtown pizzeria, called Double Zero Pizza. The spot recently opened on 4th St., in between 7th and 8th Ave. S.W., across from Holt Renfrew. I can’t wait to stop in to try the thin-crust pizzas and paninis. And if you’re wondering about the Double Zero name, it comes from the grade of flour used to make the crusts. I’m not a flour connoisseur, but I’m assuming that’s good.
  • Sophie’s Pizza, for some zza of another kind. I was treated to this Greek-style pie for the first time last weekend. With substantial crust and loads of cheese, it’s the kind of pizza that fills you up after just one piece. That didn’t stop me from having another one, though.
  • Steeling Home‘s sidewalk/garage sale, taking place today through Sunday. Steeling Home continues to be one of my favourite stops for cool little gifts, jewelry, interesting home decor and more.
  • This Essie nail polish, called e-nuf is e-nuf. I swear, I type faster when my nails are painted a bright colour.
  • Russell Smith’s story about words in the Globe and Mail. Anyone who’s been to a Magnan family dinner knows that we love anything to do with language and words. It’s not uncommon for a dictionary to appear, when we’re looking to resolve a debate. (One of our most memorable ones involved “card sharp” and “card shark.” My mom won. She always does.) If you’re a word nerd like me, then you’ll appreciate Russell’s story about overly used words, “elegant variations” and more.
  • Last but not least, Stiegl beer. If I have my way, I’ll be cracking one of these open this afternoon — ideally on a patio. Now that I’m thinking about beer, I may have to head to 1410 to enjoy a grapefruit Stiegl, which they have on tap. If anyone has the lowdown on whether you can buy grapefruit Stiegl at liquor stores or not — and, if so, where — do tell.

Have a great weekend, everyone.

~Michelle

2 Responses to “Things We Like”

  1. Alyssa June 3, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Have you tried Zyn in Inglewood? They have an impressive beer (and wine!) selection. I know they carry Stiegl, just not sure if they carry grapefruit Stiegl. Good luck! ASD

  2. Jennifer June 3, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    How can anyone NOT love pizza?
    Pizza makes the world go ’round!
    Well, even if it doesn’t make the world go ’round,
    Pizza makes the ride worthwhile!

    Choose Happiness & Success!

    Jennifer

    P.S. Never Pay Retail Again!

Leave a Reply

