Outfit for Traveling to London

26 May

Did I tell you about my big trip coming up this week? On Friday, we’re flying west for my brother’s wedding. From there, we’re heading the other direction to London, England, for a few days of catching up with friends and showing the boy my old haunts. After that, it’s onto Cyprus for two weeks of heaven.

I can’t travel in heels, short dresses or uncomfortable pants, although I applaud Victoria Beckham for her skills (see here, here and here).

Obviously, Ms. Beckham’s travel experiences differ considerably from mine. For instance, I’m not sure she’s ever hauled her suitcase along London’s bumpy streets. I don’t even think David Beckham does that.

For people that lug their own bags, I like comfortable-but-not-made-for-sports pants, a lightweight shirt with sweater and scarf, and shoes that I can sprint in — just in case, say, I drop my passport on the plane and realize that only after I’ve walked all the way to a terminal at the other end of the airport and the pilot has to hold the plane for me.

As if anyone would ever to do that.

For my London flight, I’m going with my trusty drawstring jean-things. I don’t really know what to call them but they aren’t as grandma-ish as they sound. I’d take a photo but they’re in the laundry.

Here’s a similar pair from J.Crew:

I own and love this James Perse classic T. It’s one of my standbys for traveling:

A scarf is always necessary. It functions as blanket, sweater, pillow and bad-hair cover. Here’s one from Aritzia’s fall line:

I’ve been keeping my eye out for Vkoo cardigan for a while. This brand caught my eye months ago when I saw a photo of Vanessa Hudgens wearing one of their cardigans. They’re great layering pieces. This light linen one would be ideal for a plane trip to a small Greek island, don’t you think?

For the shoes, I’m spotted these BCBG flats a few weeks ago and tested them out. They’re very comfortable. I could definitely drag luggage and my tired self around London in these:

~Chris

2 Responses to “Outfit for Traveling to London”

  1. Nicole Zacharias May 26, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Yay- the trip will be AMAZING!!!!

  2. Sarah Frangou May 26, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    See you in Vic tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

