My Happy Place Has Cake

12 May

Yesterday kicked off with a grueling workout session at 6 a.m. In the middle of ridiculously steep treadmill sprints, my trainer suggested I go to my “happy place” to get me through. So I went on an imaginary journey to my family’s lakefront cabin. And I took cake.

Ever since a friend brought a beautiful pink ruffle chocolate cake from Crave Cookies and Cupcakes to my place last week, I’ve had cake on the brain. It was like a massive, delicious Crave cupcake, with tons of butter cream icing.

Nothing could deter me from a great piece of cake. Not even setting my own hair on fire, as I did once on my birthday, while leaning over to blow out the candles on my Dairy Queen ice cream cake. Oof. Lesson learned.

Last week was my first Crave cake experience — and it was impressive. The cake was moist and the icing…Oh, the icing. It was amazing. There was so much of it, though, that, for the first time in my life, I actually scraped some off my piece. (But the longer we sat at the table, the more forkfuls of icing I ate.)

Before we dug into the masterpiece, we decided to take a few pictures, for the sake of this blog post. My ingenious friends took to styling the shoot, which led to some fun shots:

We put a good dent in the cake that night, but I had a whole lot leftover. Which meant I invited Jen, my former roomie, and her man, Josh, upstairs for cake and tea last Saturday. It was just as delicious three days later.

As for yesterday’s workout, I made it through. But the chocolate protein shake I had afterwards was no piece of chocolate cake. Boo.

~Michelle

One Response to “My Happy Place Has Cake”

  1. Laura Halvorsen May 12, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Well this certainly won’t help my plight to fit into my bridesmaid’s dress – but I can’t wait to try this cake!! It looks incredible!!

Leave a Reply

