Breakfasts On The Road

9 May

As you know, I’m in Chicago this week for work. I go through shock on these trips. Typically, I wake up early and spend morning dawdling over yogurt and newspapers. I do some yoga, then dress into my standard work uniform of leggings and boy shirt

On work trips, my days go something like this. I wake up at 6, dress quickly into an uncomfortable suit and heels, and head out the hotel door before 7 a.m.

Needless to say, the luxury hotel breakfasts are not a priority. Instead, meet my secret weapon:

I usually have one bar in the morning, along with a latte and an apple — a mix of calcium, fruit and protein.   In case you have a business trip or travel coming up, here is my list of favourites, compiled over years of traveling:

1. Think Thin bars

For what it’s worth, Tracy Anderson is a fan of these, too. They’re hard to find in Canada.

2. NuGo Organic bars

These are sweetened with tapioca and agave syrup, then covered in cacao dark chocolate. Suitable for vegans.

3. Kashi TLC Fruit & Nut Bars

The coconut-dark chocolate combo is a staple in our house. Plus, they’re easy to find in Canada and the US. I’ve heard Kashi’s GOLEAN! Crunchy bars are great but I haven’t come across them in Canada.

4. Luna bars I’m a big fan of the chocolate and raspberry variety. I bought the Luna protein bars recently. The boy ate them before I had a chance to try them. They’re a hit apparently.

A few points:

(*) I make my own granola bars and bring them with me when I travel in Canada. That said, most of my travels are international and I’m not going to mess around carrying homemade granola bars across the border. I don’t need that hassle.

(*) On arrival, you’ll have better luck finding healthy bars at the nearest drug store than at the coffee shop or hotel gift store.

(*) Finally, I always keep one in my bag because you never know when you’re going to be delayed. No one likes to be around a hangry Frangou.

~Chris

4 Responses to “Breakfasts On The Road”

  1. Are you gonna eat that? May 9, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    I think I’ve seen boxes of thinkthin at Costco.

    • Navi May 9, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

      I’ve experienced a hangry Frangou a few too many times, never fun.

      • Sarah Frangou May 10, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

        Haha and that’s why you always pack an extra granola bar now too!

    • The Toque Girls May 10, 2011 at 7:45 am #

      Really? Off to Costco I go. Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

