Seattle! And Outfits for Travel

26 Apr

Hello duckies!

I’m in Seattle, hanging out with my dearest long-time friend, Birdling (Nichola to everyone else). We met in high school and have been incredible friends ever since. Other than a few wild summers spent together, we’ve always had a long-distance friendship. Almost a decade ago, when we realized we were unlikely to live in the same city anytime soon, we made a pact:  every year, we’d take a trip together, just the two of us.  Over the last 10 years, those trips have ranged from crazy 10-day drinking-dancing-carousing adventures across Cuba (my head hurts just thinking of it!) to quick weekend yoga retreats on Galiano Island in Birdlings’ first year of motherhood.

Our adventures — which we call Tulalip — have several key elements: great meals, spa treatments, bookstores, some element of athletics and enough shopping to make American Express question my credit card spending. Most importantly, Tulalip is about building onto an amazing friendship.

Here’s a pic from an Oregon Tulalip a few years ago:

To kick off Tulalip 2011, I’ve picked out a few favourite travel pieces from Vancouver’s Obakki. (I wrote about it for the Herald here.) The collection is flowy, comfortable and classic. The pieces work just as well for dinner out on the town as they do on an airplane. That’s exactly what a girl needs for a three-day trip.

For sunny days, I want this:

For dinners, this:

And for evenings out and travel days, this:

I’m envious of the model’s braid in the first two photos. Why won’t my hair do that?

~ Chris

PS – Do send any Seattle suggestions my way. I’m always looking for great meals and unusual boutiques!

5 Responses to “Seattle! And Outfits for Travel”

  1. Nicole Zacharias April 26, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    Nordstrom Rack!!! Oh yeah, if you see any baby boy True Religions (6-9 months or bigger) Your little nephew would be so happy! (I’ll pay you for them!) Have fun!!! Hi to Nichola!

    • Gerald Cole April 26, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

      Did some Tulalip’ing with your husband last night over some beers and a hockey game. Word on the street is that you’re going to be hunting down a super cool coat for him in Seattle. How about posting some of the great men’s fashions you find in your travels?

      PS: May not be the target market for this blog, but gives you an excuse to take pictures of good looking men on the streets of Seattle. 🙂

  2. Emma at The Marion House Book April 26, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    I want to know where the term word Tulalip comes from and I’ll also take one of those black cowl neck hoodies!

    You should try and find the restaurant Nic and I went to years ago that served the best dessert I have ever had. Chocolate, caramel, marshmallow, pecans, salt, chili all rolled into one delicious mess. Maybe, she remembers the name/place?

  3. Emily April 26, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    I love Seattle! One of my favourite shopping trip cities! If you need entertainment I loved Teatro Zinzanni, it’s a cabaret-style vaudeville show with delicious dinner, a big red tent, and feather boas! Like Cirque but more intimate and with comedy, music, and better wine 🙂

  4. patentandthepantry April 27, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    I totally get the cute/short nickname thing as a kid. I wished my name was Charlene so people would call me Charlie. I have no idea why.
    My mum said I could change my name when I turned 16. Thankfully, by then, I had come to my senses.

Leave a Reply

