Easter Bread Baskets

20 Apr

One of the best things about living in Calgary is cooking with my mom. I spent years living provinces away and, at times, countries away. Now, whenever I get the chance, I tie on an apron to join my Mom, my favourite chef and baker extraordinaire, in the kitchen.

Yesterday, I met up with my mom for an afternoon of Greek Easter baking. She baked. I typed, ate and took photos. I’m an awesome daughter.

 

We made flaounas (flah-OOOOH-nas), little cheese cakes. They’re perfect for breakfast or with an afternoon tea.

My mom also made her beautiful Easter bread baskets. I’ve never seen these anywhere else in the world. As kids, we loved to watch her roll and wind the dough into these little baskets. Wouldn’t you love to wake up to a table topped with these Easter morning?

Here’s how it works: each basket is made from two ropes of flaounas dough. Roll each piece out into a long rope.

Then, lightly dip into water. (My mom was key on this — wet the dough, not the sesame seeds or you’ll have a disaster with sesame seeds stuck everywhere around your kitchen except the dough, she says.)

Next, roll it in sesame seeds.

Spiral the first rope into a circle onto a lightly greased pan.

Place a hard-boiled egg onto the top half of the circle.

Flip the lower part up to create a basket.


Cut the second rope of dough in half. Twist it to form a rope.

Loop it around the top of the egg like a handle. Voila!

This flaounas recipe on Epicurious is quite similar to my mom’s.

~Chris

6 Responses to “Easter Bread Baskets”

  1. Mom April 20, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Thanks for the lovely comments.It was a fun day.

    • The Toque Girls April 20, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      Next time, I promise to give you a heads up that I’m bringing my camera. I owe you a manicure.

  2. Laura Kumin @MotherWouldKnow April 20, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    What a great way to celebrate your mom and your relationship with her! And yes, you are an awesome daughter.

  3. LaVerne Spratt April 21, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Oh Christina you are sweet but then ” like mother like daughter” your Mom is pretty darn sweet too!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

