An Outfit for The Braids

31 Mar

Have you heard of The Braids? If not, you will soon enough. This originally-from-Calgary, now-from Montreal band won my heart (and Michelle’s) last night. They’re officially my new favourite.

I’m not the first to fall under their spell. In December, the UK’s Guardian said it’s “time to welcome Braids to the pantheon of new Very Important Bands.” In January, The Globe and Mail wrote, “the band’s debut album is what the early adopters of Arcade Fire and Broken Social Scene are going to be listening to and talking about this year.”

I could write more but my ears are ringing and it’s late. Michelle and I saw The Braids tonight (Wednesday night) at the Grand Theatre, my favourite local venue for bands. It’s time for me to go to bed.

Earlier, I threw together a fun concert outfit that works great at a venue like the Grand.

These 4-pocket trouser jeans in Bleecker Vintage from 7 For All Mankind (which just opened at Chinook if you’re looking for a pair.)

My new favourite top, this swingy electric blue Thayer tank:

This printed kimono from Zara. I’m addicted to the new kimonos/”bed jackets” everywhere this spring. They do the job of a cardigan without being too Grandma-ish.

I can’t get enough of these Barberis boots from Aldo. They’re comfy and offer suitable protection for nights when your shoes are likely to get hit snow, rain and/or beer.


Throw on some long gold necklaces and grab one of the small purses seeing everywhere this spring. I own this one from BCBG.

Have a great day, lovelies! Now, I’m off to bed.

~Chris

PS – A sad note, Velvet — one of my favourite restaurants in the town and the mainstay of the Grand’s lobby — closed March 27.

Leave a Reply

