Three Ways to Enjoy Wine

30 Mar

I just heard about The Wine Summit Lake Louise 2011, which takes place at the Post Hotel & Spa from May 26 to 29.

Wine is one of my favourite things. And the Post Hotel is one of my favourite hotels. Hence, I’m thinking this would be a cool shindig to attend.

My first visit to the Post was two Novembers ago, when I went with my friend, Jen, as the “date” to her company Christmas party. What a weekend. From the dinner we had in the wine cellar to the body wraps we had in their cozy spa, everything was top-notch. We even made some friends in the lobby:

We then made some human friends at a bar in Lake Louise, who kept handing us glasses of champagne. When we’d had enough — but they insisted we have more — we came up with creative ways to dispose of the bubbly:

Those friends ended up inviting us to Edmonton last summer to watch the Indy, as they own a racing team. Things went awry in Edmonton, though, and we never made it to the race. Jen and I changed our BlackBerry statuses to read, “On the outs with Tagliani and the crew of 75,” which made us laugh the whole drive back to Calgary.

But, back to the Post.

I’ve been lucky enough to visit the hotel a few times since that first visit. Every time, the service has blown me away. For example, during a recent stay, we called the front desk to for a wine-opener. The time it took to arrive? Three minutes. On a silver platter.

They don’t mess around at the Post. Which is why, if I were the happy owner of a money tree, I would head to the Wine Summit.

Seeing as a money tree is not in my possession, I will check out Shelley Boettcher’s blog, Uncorked in Calgary, which we link to in our blogroll and has the lowdown on all kinds of great events in and around town. Maybe I can hit a tasting sometime soon.

And, as a third, last and economical choice, I will buy a bottle of wine and enjoy it with friends. I’m looking for a new white to enjoy. What have you been loving lately?

~Michelle

11 Responses to “Three Ways to Enjoy Wine”

  1. Jocelyn Da Silva March 30, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    Hi Michelle,

    I’m not normally a fan of Riesling but love Kung Foo Girl. However, you can never go wrong with an Australian SSB (Semillon Sauvignon Blanc). I’m 6 months pregnant and have never appreciated fine wines more than I do now. Bring on August!
    Joce

  2. David G March 30, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    If you want to try a really great Riesling, then I’d suggest “Joie” from BC – likely one of the best I’ve had under $50.

    Otherwise if you want to have a quality wine for under $20, then you can’t really go wrong with Villa Maria (Pinot Gris) from New Zealand. Oh, and if you can find the fancy version (gold label) of the Pinot Gris it will blow your mind. 🙂

    Good luck.

  3. michelle March 30, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    Hi michelle, my fav white wine is kim crawford sauv blanc or I have to say gray monk pinot grigio. My fav way to enjoy wine is home with the boy after a hard day at work:) and yes the hotel is fabulous!!!

  4. Penny March 30, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    I thought you girls were cool before, but now that I see you know Tags and his peeps?? You’re on my homepage forever.
    La Crema and Conundrum are my fave whites…mmmm!

    • The Toque Girls March 30, 2011 at 10:09 am #

      Conundrum is my favourite, too, Penny (It’s Christina. I had to get in on this).

  5. gwendolyn March 30, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    I am ALL about white wines, so forgive me here but +1 for Kim Crawford’s Sauvignon Blanc, though I also recommend the (cheaper, heh) Stoneleigh, which I think is also from New Zealand. Nicely crisp with citrus undertones.

    I also love Pfaffenheim Gewurtz, very floral, Blasted Church pinot gris and Summerhill’s Ehrenfelser. The Gewurtz and Ehrenfelser are both slightly off-dry, so if you like really dry wines you may want to skip them.

  6. gwendolyn March 30, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Oh, AND you must must must check out the Costco liquor stores. No membership required. Inexpensive wines. Mark-ups are done on percentage basis (11 per cent across the board, I believe), so you actually get a better deal on more expensive wines. At regular liquor stores, the more expensive the wine, the greater the markup.

    I just bought some Kim Crawford and Summerhill Ehrenfelser there last week.

    OK, I’ll stop clogging the comments now.
    : )

    • The Toque Girls March 30, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

      I will definitely be checking out the Costco stores, too. When I grab a bottle or two of your wine, perhaps you can help me enjoy it?

  7. Auntie Mary March 30, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    ” Creative ways of disposing of bubbly “…. I was so relieved to see that it was Michelle writing of this sacrilegious act and not you, Christina. Costco does have some great prices on wine. If you are in the US check out Total Wine..it’s a superstore for wine and other such products. The prices and selections are unbelievable.

  8. The Toque Girls March 30, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Wow, thanks everyone! Those are some fantastic suggestions. My wine list will be long. Just the way I like it. =)

Leave a Reply

