Low-Carb “Pasta”

14 Mar

John Berardi, the president of Precision Nutrition, really likes veggies. So do I.

This is one of the many reasons his cookbook, Gourmet Nutrition: The Cookbook for the Fit Food Lover, is one of my all-time faves; it’s filled with amazing recipes that are quick to make, healthy and often incorporate loads of vegetables. (The book is available online or at The Main Dish, which also has a whole takeout menu offering John’s creations.)

One of the recipes, the Beef and Vegetable Fettucine, is pure genius. Sure, the beef sauce, which incorporates coconut milk, yogurt and miso paste, is fantastic. But it’s the fettucine that sets this recipe apart. That’s because the “pasta” is actually strips of sauteed vegetables.

It’s such a great idea, and so simple.

Here’s how it works, as taken from Gourmet Nutrition:

“Fettucine” Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup carrot
  • 3/4 cup zucchini
  • 3/4 cup broccoli stalk (imperfections trimmed)

Peel the outside layer of the carrots and discard. Now use the peeler and peel the carrots, zucchini and broccoli into strips. This is the “fettucine.”

Heat a pan and spray with cooking spray. Add the carrot and broccoli “fettucine” to the pan and saute for 3 minutes. Add 2 tbsp of broth or water and then add the zucchini and cook for 2 minutes more.

Last week, I couldn’t find broccoli stalks that were long enough. So here’s how it looks, when using just carrots and zucchini:

The beauty of these “noodles” is that you can use them any way you please. For instance, instead of making the beef sauce, I opted to clean out my fridge and use all of the veggie remnants I could find. I also added olive oil, garlic, meat and sundried tomatoes.

I stir-fried all of that first and set it aside. Then I used the same pan to saute the veggie noodles. When they were ready, I added the meat and veggie mixture to the pan. And voila.

It was so tasty that I forgot all about the faux pasta noodles. `

~Michelle

p.s. When I say John really likes veggies, I’m serious. He eats 10 to 15 servings a day. I found this out years ago and it still amazes me.

p.p.s. Excuse me while I go chop some vegetables. I’m feeling guilty.

6 Responses to “Low-Carb “Pasta””

  1. haithem March 15, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    That looks so DELICIOUS! I will have to make Eric make it for me and he better make it right.

  2. Emily March 18, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Hey ladies, I love your blog! I haven’t missed a post in the last few months, I also live in Calgary and it turns out that I love many of the things you do. Including the look of this pasta – yum! Will DEFINITELY be trying this out, on an evening when I have time to peel all those veggies…
    Keep up the awesome writing! 🙂

  3. Colette March 21, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    OMG. I made the ‘noodles’ last night. They are so, so good. Another favourite from the cookbook. Thanks for reminding me to try it. xo

    • The Toque Girls March 22, 2011 at 6:47 am #

      Glad to hear you liked them, Colette! And I hope all is well. xo

  4. Tami April 10, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    I’m currently addicted to this “pasta” and ate it twice last week. I’m cooking up a batch right now, so I figured that deserved a comment. Next time I’m visiting, I’ll see if I can force feed it to Josh and get a goofy photo to complete your collection.

    • The Toque Girls April 10, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      So happy you like it, Tami. And yes, please let me know how the force feeding goes!

Leave a Reply

