Chicken Fattoosh

3 Mar

I’m quite nuts for Lebanese food. You know how dogs perk up when you say “treat?” I do the same with baba ghannouj.

I make one of my favourites — fattoosh — at least twice a month. It’s a great dish for cold weather days. I often make it in the morning, and over the day, the pita soaks up the tomato juice. By dinner, it’s perfect. This healthy dish, which is a riff on Jillian Michael’s version in Making the Cut, is also great as leftovers. The boy swears it tastes great cold, right out of the fridge.

If I was the kind of person who ate things right out of the fridge, I’d probably agree. But I’d never admit to standing in front of the fridge with a fork and the bowl of fattoosh.

To serve, I usually top it with a handful of olives and a spoonful or two of Greek yogurt.

(A note: I recommend Liberté 0% Greek Yogurt. It’s the closest thing I’ve found to proper Greek yogurt in Canada. You can eat it with a fork.)

Chicken Fattoosh

  • 2 whole-wheat pitas, cut into half-inch pieces (I like Dempsters’s Flax Multigrain Pita Snackers; the thick pita soaks up tomato juice perfectly and fits in the toaster)
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 pound skinless chicken breast, cut into cubes
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup ready-to-eat shelled edamame
  • 1 cup finely chopped tomato
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 2 cups halved cherry tomatoes
  • /2 cup onion
  • 4 tablespoons of chopped fresh mint

Toast pita in oven or toaster. Next, heat the oil in skillet over medium-high heat. Sprinkle chicken with pepper. Add chicken to pan and saute until cooked thoroughly.

Add soybeans, chopped tomatoes, wine, lemon juice and garlic. Cook for 4 minutes, stirring constantly.

Add toasted pita, halved tomatoes, onion and mint. Toss together.

Happy fattooshing.

2 Responses to “Chicken Fattoosh”

  1. are you gonna eat that? March 12, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    Made this for a weeknight dinner and it was awesome. Quick to make and delicious especially the next day for lunch. I even ate it cold and it was still good. Loved how the pita absorbed all the flavours. Thanks for sharing, Chris!

    • The Toque Girls March 13, 2011 at 9:18 am #

      Should I tell you that it’s healthy, too? Glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

