The Oscars, Magazines and More

28 Feb

Writing a blog post while watching the pre-Oscars show with my Co-Toque, Christina, is difficult. I’m supposed to be writing about magazines right now. But, since we’re on the Oscars, here’s what we’ve deduced so far:

  • Hilary Swank should wear her hair down to soften herself up a little.
  • Christina’s dream is to be adopted by Javier Bardem and Penelope Cruz.
  • Giuliana Rancic looks like a leather toothpick.
  • Sharon Stone is hot.
  • Matthew McConaughey’s wife is even hotter. The hottest, actually. (Except for Javier and Penelope, of course, says Christina.)

Now, back to magazines. I’m addicted to them, and one of my favourite spots to stock up is the Daily Globe Newshop on 17th Ave. I stopped in the other day and was overwhelmed by the selection:

In the end, I selected this stack. It was not a cheap stack. (Is it wrong to spend $50.32 on magazines? No, I don’t think so, either.)

A tip: If you’ve never checked out Zoo Magazine, an edgy German magazine, pick it up sometime. Bryan Adams is a co-owner and often photographs celebrities for the mag. He does an incredible job. In fact, he’s the only photographer who’s ever made me look at Renee Zellweger and think, “Hot damn. She looks amazing.”

On that note, I’ll sign off. The pre-show is coming to an end and Christina’s distracting me with comments like, “Ooh, look at that horrible dress in the background!” and “Have you ever noticed that bump on the inside of Christian Bale’s nose?” Obviously, we have important things to discuss.

~Michelle

One Response to “The Oscars, Magazines and More”

  1. haithem February 28, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    Great post! Now all I can think about is Magazines Magazines and more Magazines. I am headed to the Daily Globe as soon as it’s open for my weekly fix.

Leave a Reply

