A Winter Peptalk

23 Feb

Remember my plan for a fun outfit for the Heritage Classic? That went out the window as soon as people began tossing around words like “wind chill” and “minus 20.”

This was the reality:

Sure, you laugh. But I was warm. Er, let me rephrase: I didn’t freeze.

And, it’s getting colder. I feel we need a winter pep talk post. I do, anyway, because if I don’t adapt soon, I’ll be at the airport with my passport and a bikini before the boy gets home from work.

Let’s come up with a list of ways to make this week survivable. I’ll start.

1. Ray’s Station Wine

Best enjoyed wearing drawstring pants and watching TV from under a blanket. (Shooting this photo was a good idea. It gave me an excuse to bust out the wine and the Ghiarardelli Sea Salt Soiree chocolate. Okay, maybe I sneaked in the chocolate just so I could eat some.)
2. Not feeling badly about hiding inside and watching far too many movies in a pre-Oscar movie binge:

 

3. Slippers, like these cute ballet ones from Jenster 76 Designs Etsy shop. You could pull off killer kitchen pirouettes in these lovelies.

4.  Trips home to Fernie because there’s a base of 284 cm and it’s always warmer there:

5. Pond hockey and happy dogs with three shoes:

*Photos by Gerald Cole

6. Snowshoeing with a thermos of hot chocolate tucked into your pack:


See, it’s not so bad!

~Chris

2 Responses to “A Winter Peptalk”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A Winter Peptalk « The Toque Girls -- Topsy.com - February 23, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Willows Casual Home, Toque Girls. Toque Girls said: New Post: Repeat after us — we will survive #yyc winter, we will survive #yyc winter. http://bit.ly/f9MTEH […]

  2. Lukas « The Toque Girls - March 7, 2011

    […] now, I feel a bit like Mocha, my dog-in-law. Mocha likes to hang out on the upstairs front balcony. As soon as she sees our […]

Leave a Reply

