Fighting the Pasty Skin Winter Blues

9 Feb

I’m a white girl. So white, in fact, that I have this conversation rather frequently:

A concerned loved one or friend: Hey, are you okay?

Me: Yes, why?

ACLOOF: You’re so pale.

Me: Ah, yes. Don’t worry — I’m fine. I’m whiter than white and have nearly translucent skin.

Imagine, then, my delight in rediscovering a magical little container of powder that’s been at the bottom of my makeup bag the last couple of years: Warmth All-Over Face Color by the Bare Escentuals mineral makeup line.

I’ve been wearing it the last few weeks and have had more than a few comments about my “glowing” and “bright” skin. Wha? Me? Glowing and bright during the winter months? If a Casper-esque girl receives these kinds of comments, then you know this powder really does work wonders for the complexion.

Here are my tips on how to use it: Use a tiny, tiny bit. The powder is potent, so I typically swirl my blush brush into the lid of the container — without shaking any powder into it first. The residue on the inside of the lid gives colour without coming on too strong.

Also, once it’s on your skin, top it with a dusting of your favourite blush. Blend well and you’re set.

I’m telling you, pasty friends, your skin will look amazing. And if you have any tricks of your own on how to avoid that I-look-sick-I’m-so-pale look, I’m all ears.

~Michelle

One Response to “Fighting the Pasty Skin Winter Blues”

  1. Angela February 9, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    I’ve been using this stuff for a few years now, and I LOVE IT! It has definitely become a staple in my makeup kit. A fellow Canadian girl- though maybe not as fair as you 🙂 and now living in the Mediterranean, definitely is a good thing to have to not look as pale during our “winter” months. Great post 🙂

Leave a Reply

