Tim Ferriss and The 4-Hour Body

1 Feb

A couple of weeks ago, I met Tim Ferriss in L.A. to chat about his new book, The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex and Becoming Superhuman. Ferriss isn’t new to the bestselling game. His first book, The 4-Hour Workweek, was printed in 35 languages and has been on the bestselling list for a crazy amount of time.

So, on a very sunny Sunday, we ate a very healthy lunch together. Please check out the details of our lunch date, why “skeptics and well-known authors” told him the book would never sell and why I’m far from superhuman in the Maclean’s story called Fat Loss, Great Sex and Lentils.

I’ve been following Tim’s fat-loss principles — with the occasional “treat,” like milk in my coffee — for nearly four weeks now. I don’t find them hard to follow, I enjoy every meal and I don’t have cravings; the fact that you can eat anything and everything you want one day a week helps. Also, you’re allowed up to two glasses of red wine a night, if you like. And I do like.

Here’s what a typical day of 4-Hour Body eating looks like for me. First, there’s a breakfast of eggs, black beans, veggies and salsa. **When your coworkers see you eating this for the first time, they will think you’re weird. You may have to explain what you’re up to, as in, “I’m becoming superhuman. Don’t worry about it.”**

Lunch is often a salad, whether it’s homemade or something I pick up from Sunterra.

Dinner usually incorporates a heavier protein, like the spicy Italian sausage I used in this lentil, kale and sausage soup. (The recipe is in the current issue of Chatelaine.) The Parmesan cheese I grated on top isn’t 4-Hour Body-approved. My bad. But, really, oh so good.

I don’t see myself falling off of The 4-Hour Body eating wagon. As long as my love affair with lentils keeps up, I’ll be good to go.

~Michelle

6 Responses to “Tim Ferriss and The 4-Hour Body”

  1. Jocelyn Da Silva February 1, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    I’m reading Tim’s ‘4 Hour Work Week’ now and the principles/teachings are amazing. Will need to check out this book…tasty looking food. Is it working?

  2. Blair de Jong February 2, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    @Michelle – Awesome article in Macleans. Thanks for the delicious recipe tips 🙂

  3. haithem February 2, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Congrats on the great article! Very inspirational. Maybe I also can feel Lean, mean and Superhuman one day hopefully. Thank you for sharing the recipes.

    • The Toque Girls February 2, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

      Thanks, Haithem and Blair. I’m happy you like the story!

      And Jocelyn, it’s been a while since I read The 4-Hour Workweek, but I do remember feeling uber inspired when I finished it. If you get the new book, you’ll have to let me know what you think!

  4. Bubble Bags April 5, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Hi! I’m lovin lentils too! Today I tried to make buns with lentils and eggs whites (for my hamburgers) and they turn out great.

    4 Hour Body Lentil Hamburger Buns

    1 Cup of Cooked Lentils Mashed
    4 Egg Whites Whipped
    2 Tbsp of Ground Flax Seed
    1 Tsp of Yeast
    1/4 Cup of Warm Water
    1 Tsp of Rosemary

    Whip the eggs until stiff. Add lentils, flax seed and rosemary. Mix thoroughly. As you mixing ad the yeast to the warm water and let rest until yeast doubles in size and then add to the mixture.

    Spray a muffin pan with Pam of grease up to the mixture doesn’t stick. Fill the muffin spot and at bake at 350 for 10-15 mins until golden brown. Viola

    Goodluck with your 4HB quest! I’m down 23lbs in 8 weeks.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Healthy Pancake Recipe « The Toque Girls - March 22, 2011

    […] thanks to Tim Ferriss and my brother, I’ve been eating more pancakes as of late. When Tim tweeted about this […]

Leave a Reply

