An Outfit for a Movie Matinee

21 Jan

Hooray, hooray, I’m playing hooky from work today! As you’re reading this, the boy and I are heading to the mountains for a day of skiing.

Tomorrow, if I can still walk, I’m planning a movie  matinee. I’m want to check off The King’s Speech from my must-see list. I’d hate to be poorly educated on Oscar night.

It’s supposed to be semi-sunny and warm this weekend, the perfect opportunity to bust out this cozy sweater from Zara. I love the double-breasted Grandpa thing that’s going on here:

Note the awesome elbow patches:

I’ll add comfy pants, an ongoing theme — I realize — in my wardrobe. Believe me, you work from home long enough and comfy pants become a way of life. A few readers suggested that I try out these Paige Denim Verdugo jeggings, sans heels. Heidi Klum likes them, too.

Continuing with the comfy theme, a slouchy tee is in order. I have this one from the Gap, and wear it more often than I want to admit on a blog.

I’d top it off with this slouchy cardy beanie from UGG Australia. (I hear our friend and stylist Leah groaning now but, Leah, this way I don’t have to do my hair):

And a fun bag from Anthropologie, big enough for a water bottle and maybe a steamed milk, balanced precariously inside, and a dark chocolate bar, preferably with sea salt. I’ll need the extra calories up after skiing on Friday. Well, let’s pretend I’ll need them.

For shoes, these Roberto Del Carlo‘s would do nicely.

Have a good weekend, lovelies!

-Chris

2 Responses to “An Outfit for a Movie Matinee”

  1. Sarah Frangou January 21, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    That toque looks like it fits amazingly. I want.

  2. Danielle January 21, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Oooh I’m totally digging this outfit! I love the elbow pads on the sweater and those boots are gorgeous!!

    -Danielle

Leave a Reply

