Simple Pleasures in Banff

4 Jan

Banff is one of my favourite places in the world. The lovely mountain town reminds me of camping trips, hiking, skiing, birthday parties, stagettes and countless New Year’s Eve adventures.

In the last month alone, I’ve visited Banff three times: first, to ski at Lake Louise, next, for a company Christmas party and, last, to ring in 2011.

Every time I’m in town, I follow a strict and disciplined routine. Mostly, it involves sauntering around Banff to eat and drink yummy treats. Next time you’re in town, give it a go. Your tastebuds will thank you (and me).

The routine begins with coffee and an egg sandwich at Wild Flour, Banff’s Artisan Bakery Cafe.

Next up: dessert.

Yes, dessert after breakfast. I believe that chocolate can, and should, be incorporated into any meal — especially when in Banff.

My dessert of choice is a chocolate mint truffle from The Fudgery.

At this point, a solid food foundation has been laid for cross-country or downhill skiing. Or, if it’s too cold out, for shopping at Roots and Lululemon. (I typically have great luck at the Banff locations.)

To warm up from your adventures, I prescribe the Larkspur Cider at The Rimrock Resort Hotel‘s Larkspur Lounge. It is best consumed while sitting next to the fireplace. Ideally, said fire would be lit, not as below.

Once you’ve had the cider and can feel your fingers and toes again, your hard work is done.

It’s an exhausting schedule, I know, but well worth the effort.

~Michelle

One Response to “Simple Pleasures in Banff”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Muks: My Favourite Mukluk Boots « The Toque Girls - February 7, 2011

    […] and work. They’ve also accompanied me on a few weekend trips to Banff. (As we know, I enjoy walking around town, especially when I have warm […]

Leave a Reply

