World’s Best Dark Chocolate Bark

21 Dec

Lovers of dark chocolate, be warned. What you are about to read could change your life. If not your life, definitely your waistline.

Several Christmases ago, I went on a mission to find the best dark chocolate bark recipe on the planet. I experimented with flavours, brands and toppings. I taste-tested myself into drawstring pants. Many recipes were pretty good (a pistachio/cherry version looked particularly Christmas-y) but one was mind-blowing. My take on this popular recipe from epicurious has become my go-to Christmas treat.

Milk chocolate and white chocolate lovers are always nonplussed by it. But to dark chocolate lovers, this stuff is the bomb. I still get chocolate requests from yoga teachers that I haven’t seen in years.

Ingredients

  • 6 teaspoon anise seeds
  • 2 cups dried chopped apricots
  • 2 cups almonds
  • 1/2 cup chopped ginger
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried figs
  • 36 oz fine-quality bittersweet chocolate (not unsweetened), finely chopped (I’ve always preferred Bernard Callibaut. I haven’t been able to get my hands on Bernard’s new Papa Chocolat yet.)

Preparation

  • Finely grind anise in an electric coffee/spice grinder.
  • Cover two baking sheets with apricots, figs, ginger and almonds.

  • Melt chocolate in a double boiler or a small metal bowl set over a small saucepan of barely simmering water, stirring occasionally, until smooth.

  • Stir anise into chocolate. Pour over fruit mixture.
  • Chill until firm, about 30 minutes, then break into pieces.

Put on drawstring pants. Enjoy!

~Chris

3 Responses to “World’s Best Dark Chocolate Bark”

  1. Cheryl Arkison December 21, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    Sadly Papa Chocolat doesn’t make couverture chocolate… yet.

    • The Toque Girls December 21, 2010 at 9:31 am #

      I can’t wait to try it when he does. I’m picking up some of his new goodies later today!

  2. Jocelyn Da Silva December 21, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    This is the Christmas treat I’ll be making! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

