Milk Chocolate Chip Cookies

10 Dec

Unlike Christina, I don’t have a Christmas tree to put up this year. What I do have: a Santa cookie jar.

I know, I know. It’s not nearly as exciting. But the good news is he won’t topple over onto my couch in the middle of the night.

To fill said cookie jar, I decide to make one of my specialties, the Neiman Marcus cookie. Maybe you’ve heard of the recipe. There’s an urban legend about its origins, which apparently isn’t true. I don’t care where these cookies come from; I just know they’re great.

I devoured them for the first time during my first year of journalism school in Toronto. My roommate at the time, a great girl named Jen, would mix these up on a semi-regular basis. I’d then proceed to eat far too many as snacks, post-bar food and sometimes even as breakfast. (And I wondered why my jeans were tight that year.)

I believe this version of the recipe varies slightly from others floating around, but let me tell you: this recipe is perfection. Key to your cookie success is the chocolate chip variety you choose. You can use any one you like, but my advice is to go for the milk chocolate chips, straight up. They’re oh so tasty.

Neiman Marcus Cookies

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2.5 cups blended oatmeal (quick oats crushed to a powder in the blender)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 large eggs
  • 600 g milk chocolate chips *okay, so you’re allowed to use semi-sweet, white or whatever you like, but you know my stance on this

Cream the butter and both sugars together. Add eggs and vanilla and mix.

Measure oatmeal and blend to a fine powder. In a bowl, combine oatmeal, flour, salt, soda and powder. Add dry mixture to butter and egg mixture. Add chocolate chips and stir. Put dough in fridge while preheating oven to 350F.

Roll dough into balls and place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for eight to 10 minutes. Leave on sheet one to two minutes after removing from oven, then transfer to cooling rack. Recipe should make about four dozen cookies, depending on how much dough you’ve eaten.

They’re pretty amazing straight out of the oven, all soft and chewy. You could eat just one…

…or “test” a bunch for quality control. “Testing” is my preferred method.

Check out my happy cookie jar — he’s stuffed. Guaranteed I’m now on his “Nice” list. (As if there was ever any doubt.)

~Michelle

p.s. The Kingsland Farmers’ Market opened yesterday. If you need an excuse to check it out, stop by to grab some top-quality eggs for your batch o’ cookies.

Leave a Reply

