Christmas Party Dresses

7 Dec

Stylish friends and Stylist friends,

I need your help. I require fashion advice for an upcoming Christmas party at the zoo, where I may or may not be in close proximity to elephants. Before you jump in with suggestions of jeans and galoshes, take note: it’s my husband’s work Christmas party. Jeans probably are not appropriate for a work party even if it does involve large mammals.

While I do love the zoo, it’s a bit of bust when it comes to dressing up. I’ve seen some beautiful cocktail dresses around town that I’d like to show off at a party. (Feel free to invite me to your party. I probably have an outfit in mind.)

I was introduced recently to American designer Rory Beca‘s work and I’m quite in love. I think I’ve met my go-to dress designer for life. Many of her pieces are made from beautiful silks that drape perfectly. In Calgary, the line is available exclusively at Coco & Violet. I like this tiny little wrap dress, which probably needs a sweater or a tiny blazer for a Canadian Christmas. (And maybe some double-sided tape or pins to keep me proper.)

If I was going to a glamorous event that takes place in a heritage building (I’m thinking Teatro or the Palliser), I’d wear this vintage-inspired look from Wilfred, along with pearl earrings and loose curls:

For a more conservative affair, I’d stick to black and simple like this classic look from Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent. (Empire Collection on 17th Avenue carries this line. For the next two weeks, they’re having a buy-one, get-the-second-half-price sale.) I’d add sparkly earrings, a bun and red lipstick:

And if anyone invites me to a fashion-forward event that falls on a horribly cold night, I’m wearing this entire look from Club Monaco. It’s warm and sparkly.

*Photo via Stimuli Mag

Of course, none of this solves my zoo outfit dilemma. I’d like a dress similar to this Victoria Beckham beauty (or I’ll happily take this exact one if someone wants to buy it for me) and I’d wear it with my Hunter Wellies just in case I pat an elephant. Thoughts?

~Chris

3 Responses to “Christmas Party Dresses”

  1. Nicole Zacharias December 7, 2010 at 6:33 am #

    I saw the gold one at Club Monaco on the weekend- gorgeous! They do have some nice clothes right now!

  2. Cynthia December 7, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    I love the black one… and the sparkles one… you’d look very hot in that!! 🙂 when’s the party?!

  3. Emma At The Marion House Book December 8, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    While the VB would be nice I think the Club Monaco is on the money. I love that it looks totally comfortable but still glamorous. No falling out of your dress concerns!

Leave a Reply

