Slipping, bailing and swallowing pride on Calgary’s icy sidewalks and slick lobbies

30 Nov

One day a couple of weeks ago, I wore my favourite pair of heels to work. They’re high and grey. That same day, Mother Nature decided to wear white; she dumped loads of snow. Heading to work, I navigated the slick sidewalks just fine. Trouble struck, however, later that morning in the lobby of the Suncor building.

On my way to meet someone for coffee, my right heel hit a wet patch on the floor. I bailed hard. The best part? All 20 people in line at Starbucks witnessed the fall.

Sitting in a pile on the floor, the only thing I could think of was Dane Cook‘s skit about watching a guy get hit by a car. The guy is too embarrassed to accept help or even admit anything happened. As Dane says, “He’s trying to play it off like he didn’t just get hit by a car!”

Back to me sitting there. I didn’t want to be trying to play it off like I didn’t just bail. So, I looked at the lineup of people behind me and said something along the lines of, “Wow, that was smooth.”

No one asked if I was alright, aside from the security guard who was sitting at a nearby booth. But, that’s his job, right? Our convo went like this:

Him: Miss, are you okay?

Me: Yes, I’m fine, thanks.

My pride: OUCH!

Since then, I’ve been witness to a handful of wipeouts. There was the girl who fell while crossing the street in front of Classic Jack’s on 17th Ave. There was the guy who spilled his Tim Horton’s coffee…as soon as he walked out the door. And then there was Sam, who fell while running from the hot tub to our hotel room in Banff. (Hers was the most spectacular, as it was minus 30, she was wearing a bikini and winter boots, and she went skidding down a hill.)

I have to say, I reacted differently to every fall. I said “oooohhhhh,” “that sucks!” and “hahahahahahahahaha,” respectively.

My question is: how do you react when you see someone wipeout on our city streets? Let’s have a poll and see what the masses say:

~Michelle

p.s. Any tips on how to recover if you’re the one who bailed?

5 Responses to “Slipping, bailing and swallowing pride on Calgary’s icy sidewalks and slick lobbies”

  1. Shelley December 1, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    Oh, I’ve done that. Once on flat surface, no snow, in front of a boss, on the way to my car…And no, I wasn’t drunk.

    Had to share this video with you, though, of a guy taking a fall during the Grey Cup last weekend in Edmonton. It made me think of you…although I hope you weren’t doing air guitar moves as you maneuvered past the Starbucks crowd!

    • The Toque Girls December 1, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

      Whoa – bad one! Thanks for passing it on, Shelley. Makes me feel better about my own. =)

  2. Tannis December 1, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    When I’m the one who bails (it happens more frequently than I’d care to admit) I usually own it. I look around, wave, and say, “Don’t worry. I’m OK, but you should see the other guy.”

    • The Toque Girls December 1, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

      hahaha I love it, Tannis. I’ll bust that out next time I have a wipeout. Thanks for the note a while back, as well. Let’s do coffee soon for sure!

      • Tannis December 2, 2010 at 12:02 am #

        I would love to! Is there a better way to get in touch with you? I can be reached at tanbara@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

