Happiness

26 Nov

I’ve been thinking a lot about happiness lately. I’ve been working on a story about happiness and part of my research involved asking people “what makes you happy?”

In this week of record low temperatures, little sleep and many bills, I decided it’s a wise time to focus on what makes me happy. When I gave it some thought, I realized that the things that make me happiest are things that I can control, things I decide to do. I’ll remember that next time I’m grouchy about a gray day of -39 and poor night’s sleep.

My happy list consists of things like:

  • laughing with my family over crosswords and crazy notes to Santa;
  • a fantastic run;
  • days spent doing yoga and reading in Cyprus;
  • meeting my mom for lunch;
  • getaway weekends in Fernie;
  • catching up with my girlfriends, especially my annual Tulalip escape;
  • staying in on a Friday with the boy and eating homemade pizzas while we sit cross-legged in front of the TV;
  • and this little blog project, which started out as a series of funny emails Michelle and I sent back and forth. It’s now grown to hundreds of daily readers. A big thank you to all who check in here daily!

Someone asked me once to describe my perfect day. It’s so simple, really. It involves waking to good coffee and going on an all-day outdoor athletic adventure — hiking, skiing, snowshoeing — ideally, in sunny conditions.

There’s an picnic lunch involving sandwiches. I LOVE picnic sandwiches (I got engaged over a snowy picnic lunch.).

Okay, this isn’t a picture of a snowy lunch. But it was a very good sandwich.

The day ends with celebratory beer on a patio or wine in a lodge, followed by a delicious but not-fussy meal, surrounded by lots of friends, laughing and talking.

On that note, I’m looking for a cross-country ski date tomorrow. Any takers? I’ll bring sandwiches.

2 Responses to “Happiness”

  1. Kristine Beese November 26, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    YAY! what a gorgeous picture of a gorgeous day! That made me very happy 🙂

  2. Lyndsey November 27, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    Great Post!! I love the part about happiness being within our own control! I’m currently reading “The Happiness Project” which has some great insights on boosting one’s happiness level. 🙂

Leave a Reply

