A Hot Ski Outfit for a Cold Winter

23 Nov

Hooray, hooray! Ski season is finally here, horrible temperatures notwithstanding.  I’ve been writing up ski previews for the Calgary Herald and now I dream snow — snow and temperatures around -3.

Let’s talk ski gear, shall we? Wouldn’t this be a great outfit for the 2010-11 ski season?

This Canada Goose parka in bright green (Holt Renfrew carries this line). It’s got an adjustable hood and removable fur trim. Admittedly, I did a new jacket last year but I really, really, really like this one. I’d be a much faster skier in it. That’s a fact.

These fantastic Riderarchy Pants from the North Face. These snowboard-inspired pants are doubly-insulated at the knees and butts — ergo, no more W.B.S. (Wet Bum Syndrome). And I have a thing for snow pants with belts.

Tie-dyed long underwear to keep you warm. These are from Tiedyedshop.com. True, they’d be very annoying when nature calls. But, they’re so fun! You could always do a pair of tie-dyed leggings. I’ve got an awesome set that my little sister made for me.

Then, I’d throw on this sweater over my base layer. I’ve always loved the look of old vintage sweaters and this thick sweater from Dale of Norway could double as a jacket on warmer days.

I never ski without these warm, comfy socks from Smartwool. They’re the absolute best for keeping my feet toasty. I know because I once spent five hours hanging 30-feet up in a broken-down gondola (more on that another time). These puppies saved my toes:

For the hands, I’m a Loki girl. Their mitts have an access port so you don’t have to take your mitts off to free your fingers. That’s a key feature for a girl who likes to arrange apres-ski via chairlift text message.

And this Giro Revolver Helmet to protect my noggin:

Jeez-louise, I’d look so good that I wouldn’t even need long lunch breaks.

~Chris

PS – Have you heard about the new Louise plus card this year? It’s awesome. For $99, you get your first two days free at Louise or Kicking Horse with no blackout days! Then, it’s only $50 per day to ski at Louise, Kicking Horse and Castle Mountain.

5 Responses to “A Hot Ski Outfit for a Cold Winter”

  1. Nicole Zacharias November 23, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    maybe i will be able to ski this spring…its gonna be a long winter. I just had a ski dream last night!!!

    • The Toque Girls November 23, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

      That’s a sign. How’s this? I’ll babysit my niece or nephew while you get in a run or two late in the season. xo

  2. Sarah Frangou November 26, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    Yo do you ladies know when the last day to get the Louise card is?

    • The Toque Girls November 26, 2010 at 10:08 am #

      I believe it’s Dec. 24. I know Santa. Would you like me to mention it to him?

      • Sarah Frangou November 26, 2010 at 10:10 am #

        yes if people will be game for me to tag along on trips to louise this xmas.

Leave a Reply

