I saw the sasquatch and then I saw the light

22 Nov

Big news. On my first ski weekend of the year in Banff, I found the sasquatch. Whatever you’ve heard about him, know this: he dances. And he likes girls. Check him out, busting a move with Jane, Sam and me at the Dancing Sasquatch Party Palace in Banff:

Apparently the club has been open for just a couple of months. Next time you’re in Banff, check it out. The deejay was amazing, the club was packed and there were more than a few friendly dance-offs on the floor.

We danced until the last song ended. Then, we made our freezing way to a private party with some new friends. We won’t divulge many details; we will say the party involved a deejay, two fog machines, swinging from the ceiling beams (them, not us) and beef on a bun at 3 a.m.

For all of the reasons above, we rolled into Calgary yesterday as three zombie girls. Tired, happy and ready for some major sleep. I crashed early last night.

The good news is that I had less of a reason to dread the alarm clock wake-up today. For that, I credit my cool little clock, The Wake-up Light by Philips, which is a dawn simulator. Here’s how it works: You set your alarm for 6:30 a.m. At 6 a.m., the light starts to glow, and it gets brighter for the next 30 minutes. Essentially, the light says, “Good morning!” to your brain, which is enough to wake you from sleep. In case you need an extra boost, the radio (or whatever nature sound you choose) will also kick in at 6:30 a.m. Here’s mine:

I swear, this thing works. I started using it after interviewing a sleep expert who said that, because of our many dark mornings in Canada, every Canadian should own one. He said it’s a much more natural and easy way to wake up, as your brain is tricked into thinking the sun is coming up.

With all the cold, dark mornings we’re about to face, I’m grateful for the light. I find it helps. If you dread the alarm clock as much as I used to, you may want to give it a try.

That way, you can dance all night with a sasquatch, party until 5 a.m. with new friends, and know that, when it comes time to face reality and your alarm goes off, it won’t hurt quite as much.

~Michelle

4 Responses to “I saw the sasquatch and then I saw the light”

  1. adaliane Bethune November 22, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    Loved your article. Wish I was young again. I can recall getting home just as it was time to “get up”. Fun memories that I still enjoy.You are bringing them back.
    Sounds like a very busy schedule, By the way I look forward to my morning coffee now that I have your articles to read again!! Love from “An Admirer”

  2. DJ CAIN.1 November 22, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    Thx 🙂

  3. Sarah November 23, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    Just wondering where you found the philips wake-up light?

    • The Toque Girls November 23, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

      Hi Sarah, last year at this time, London Drugs was carrying it. They probably still do. If not, you may want to check places like Walmart, The Bay or Sears, as well. Good luck with shopping and let me know if you don’t find it!

Leave a Reply

