Calgary Anthropologie

17 Nov

Don’t you love this cute look from Anthropologie?

I heart big-time. One of the things I love most about it is the versatility of the dress. You could wear this to work or to weekend brunch with your most fashionable girlfriends. Unlike most dresses, you could get away with this piece throughout most of the winter — except those days when it snows like nuts. Like today. And tomorrow. And probably the day after.

I love it, too, as a plane outfit to get away from the snow. You’d be the pretty girl in the airport that everyone checks out.

Calgary’s first Anthropologie store opens at Chinook Centre exactly one month from today. Be still my heart, I can’t wait.

To anyone who will be buying me presents this Christmas, you can invest in any of the following (as well as the above, just in case I wasn’t clear) and be guaranteed of a whopping good response on Christmas morning:

I love this whole look, even the bike.

And this for parties:

And this for underneath because I adore the comfy lingerie line Eberjey, carried at select Anthropologie stores (and Holt Renfrew):

And these for work. I do, after all, work from home and believe wholeheartedly that drawstring-pant Mondays should be enforced everywhere:

Kundalini Loungers

You could wrap everything up in this hammered gold paper, also from Anthropologie:

Hammered Gold Paper

Tie it with this:

Baker's Twine

And I promise to act really surprised Christmas morning.

~Chris

*All photos courtesy of Anthropologie

A PS — As many of you know, I got married this fall. The groom looked pretty dapper that day, don’t you think?

But he’s definitely let himself go.

Seriously, we were married two months and look what happened:

Holy smokes.

And if that wasn’t bad enough, then it disintegrated further, into this:

I know what you’re thinking. I’m a saint for sticking with this guy. In fact, this probably counts as justifiable grounds for an annulment.

Please don’t let my suffering go in vain. I’d appreciate it if you could help a guy out with his fundraising for Movember. Please donate here.

* Wedding photo courtesy of Open Image

6 Responses to “Calgary Anthropologie”

  1. Paula Schumacher November 18, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    Hubby looks wild! I barely recognize him.

  2. emma November 18, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    I love anthropologie and was so happy when they opened in toronto. So many amazing things.
    Your hubby is quite the chameleon!

  3. LaVerne Spratt November 22, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    Hey Christina -I love this blog -it gives me yet one more reason to get up in the morning-I chuckled this am as I was still in my drawstring pants -I’ll be in mine all day- the Anthropologie finds are amazing -thanks for sourcing it out so I know where to go in Calgary. Keep up the great work.

    • The Toque Girls November 22, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

      Thanks Laverne! You’ll have to let me know when you’re next in Calgary. We’ll hit up Anthropologie together. xo

  4. Pat McLean December 1, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Ah yes, he’s a McLean through and through. Nicely done.

  5. rick schmeichel December 12, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    Hey Toque Girls. Thks u helped me win my first bet with my wife – EVER!!! We were at market mall last night and wondered if the new Anthrpologie store was open at the Chinook – so I checked it out with a search and ur blog said Dec 17th (actually it said one month from today -but I’m pretty good with numbers as well michelle). She’s like “well how do u know?” (She’s very incisive) I say ” The Toque Girls say so” she’s like “what do the Toque girls know – call the mall” (I think she was hoping u were wrong..) I stood strong and defended the honour of Toque Girl blogging and said “I bet those Toque girls are right”. A call to the mall later and voila – my first win in 16 years!!! What did I win you asked?? WELL – now SHE has to stand in line that crazy first day (it will be crazy) instead of me…yes I still have to be in attendance – now I can be the guy making mucho-bucks selling fancy coffee to all the girls in toques standing in line that day – thks starbucks. Cheers girls – grt name btw – go flames go!!!

Leave a Reply

