A post-workout chocolate and peanut butter shake

10 Nov

When Women’s Health magazine published a story in November called “125 Best Packaged Foods for Women”, I thought, “Yes. Fill me in, Women’s Health.” I love the magazine, often tearing out workouts and recipes to try. This story, I thought, would be good.

Browsing the list of packaged foods, one thing immediately jumped out: the Blue Diamond Natural Almond Breeze Unsweetened Non-Dairy Beverage – Chocolate. (Try remembering that name at the grocery store.) Miraculously, I did remember it, because the Women’s Health writer said it had a “delish chocolate-milk flavor with no chalky aftertaste (and without all the sugar of other chocolate milks).”

If you read my Monday post, you’ll know that chocolate is something I’m fond of. Same goes for chocolate milk. Finding a tasty chocolate milk without a bunch of sugar seemed like a great idea.

So, when I saw the carton at the store, I decided to give this unsweetened version a whirl.

The verdict? Turns out that what I like about all the other chocolate milks is all the sugar. Who knew.

Instead of waste my carton of BDNABUNDBC (for short), I decided to improvise. And this is what I came up with: a tasty post-workout protein shake that’ll satisfy your chocolate cravings and leave you feeling satisfied.

I call it The BDNABUNDBC Boost. It’s catchy, no?

You can play around with the amounts to achieve the desired creaminess, but here’s how I made mine:

  • Pour a cup of the BDNABUNDBC (or a chocolate milk with “all the sugar”) into your blender.
  • Add one banana. I prefer mine frozen because it makes the shake thicker, but that’s up to you.
  • Add one heaping tablespoon of natural peanut butter, or any nut butter.
  • Add one heaping scoop of chocolate whey protein powder.
  • Throw in two tablespoons of large-flaked oats.
  • Add a pinch of ground flax seed.
  • Blend. Drink. Enjoy. Also, marvel at how your carton of non-dairy unsweetened chocolate milk has turned into something much more enjoyable, which resembles this:

~Michelle

One Response to “A post-workout chocolate and peanut butter shake”

  1. Brie November 11, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    High five for almond milk!

Leave a Reply

