Bathroom stall wisdom at Local 510

4 Nov

A couple of months back, I was sitting at one of my favourite watering holes in Calgary, Local 510. It was not, however, one of my favourite evenings. Things were not so hunky dory with the man friend I was dating, and we were having a serious conversation while sitting at the wood. He drank beer. I drank wine, and felt sorry for myself.

I’ll spare you the details, but I ended up excusing myself to use the washroom. A little moment to myself would do me good, I thought. I shut the bathroom stall door and just stood there. And then, I noticed it: one simple handwritten sentence on the top of the toilet paper dispenser.

“Never regret anything because at one time it was exactly what you wanted.”

I stared at it for a second. It kind of felt like God was talking to me, right there in the Local 510 bathroom stall. Okay, it wasn’t God; it was probably an 18-year-old girl who was half-cut and on her way out the door for a smoke. But the message felt like it appeared at just the right time.

I’m not sure why, but the words calmed me down. They reminded me that I’d made the choices to get me here. That I’d continue to choose and to steer my life in the direction I know I’m heading. And that I shouldn’t regret a single thing.

I was back at Local 510 last weekend (tip: try the meatloaf — it’s amazing). Time has passed and things have changed in my life. When I ventured downstairs to the bathroom, I wondered if the tidbit would still be there. It was, and it made me smile.

~Michelle

 

3 Responses to “Bathroom stall wisdom at Local 510”

  1. Tonya November 5, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    This is good wisdom! And a good reminder that you get to choose the direction of your life EVERY DAY.

  2. Kelly November 6, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    Totally agree with the sentiment. It’s a good thing to remember on those crap days, or at 3am with crying babies…

  3. Lyndsey November 10, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    Great Post!! Who knew you could actually find wise bathroom-stall “wisdom”?!
    A great mantra for any of us, so we can respect and learn from each decision we make that ultimately makes us who we are!

Leave a Reply

