Five Random Questions for Lara Presber

27 Jul

Courtesy of Lara Presber

When we first started writing about Lara Presber and how we coveted her unique and lovely clothing, we had never crossed paths with her.  That all changed last December, when we met Lara at a mutual friend’s Christmas party. We discussed style. Cocktails. Men. And a beautiful friendship was born.

With the clothing line that bears her own name, the Calgary-based designer combines her love for both architecture and fashion design – she has degrees in both – by using buildings from around the globe to inspire her collections.

We caught up with Lara over the phone, while she was manning the fort at her very own boutique in Calgary’s Fashion Central.

So, without further ado, here are our Five Random Questions for Lara Presber:

What’s your go-to summertime look?

I have a lot, but I think the overall theme of the summer has been neutrals. Every single crazy pair of shoes I have in my closet that I haven’t been able to wear, I’m wearing because they go with everything. I have a blush-coloured, bias-cut dress (of my own design) that I’m wearing a lot. You can wear blue shoes or yellow shoes or whatever you want with it.

Come fall, what can we expect to see in your store?

You know how I use a building each season to inspire each season. Well, the building for fall is the Nakagin Capsule Tower in Tokyo. It’s interesting because you have all these grey concrete cubes that are stacked. Every single one of them has a different coloured curtain. I thought it would be really fun to make a whole bunch of really simple greys – a grey trouser, a grey dress – and then make a bunch of fun coloured accessories to layer over top, so I have some belts and vests and stuff like that.

Nakagin Capsule Tower

What did you have for dinner last night?

I went to The Palomino (Smokehouse). Don’t make me admit it! I had red meat and beer. It’s so redneck!

What’s your favourite thing about Canadian fashion?

I love working in the Canadian fashion industry because I love that everyone here is so open and willing to help each other. That hasn’t existed anywhere else I’ve worked.

Are you into wearing toques?

I don’t really have any, but they’re okay. They’re cute. Actually, I do have some cute ones. I just don’t wear them very often, because I’m vain about having good hair when I get to work.

** A note from the Toque Girls: It’s true, readers. Toques can flatten your hair. Alternatively, if you already have flat hair, they can save your life.

Leave a Reply

